Listening to Hearts While Sipping a Green Smoothie


About a month ago, I started nursing school. In 15 months I’ll graduate from Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. Yes, I will be Niki Munz, RN, BSN in December 2017 eeeeeee!!! As many of you already know, my first degree is in Dietetics. I didn’t go on to become a Registered Dietitian and ultimately decided to go the nursing route. But I LOVVVEEEE nutrition; hence the title of this blog post.

My goal is to merge nutrition and nursing. My dream is to do so in a way that allows all individuals within a community to have access to preventative health resources. Why are so many Americans sick and requiring surgery and hospitalizations? Because they don’t have the education or resources to prevent disease – especially chronic disease. Now this is a broad statement, and I’m simplifying. But at a very basic level, many Americans are developing chronic health conditions (diabetes, obesity, etc.) because 1) they don’t know how to prevent them and/or 2) they don’t have the proper resources and support to prevent them.

So I am embarking on a journey to become a holistic community health nurse, and I could not be more excited. I’m eager to learn as much as possible and enjoy the adventure down here in the South! Therefore, the blog is taking a detour and becoming more of a place to share my thoughts throughout nursing school. Speaking of which, I need to study. Much love, friends!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

