Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Pancakes

Just in time for the weekend. Recipe Numero Dos of my series involving all things pumpkin. Give your loved ones – or yourself for that matter – something to delight over this Saturday.

Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Pancakes | Nourish with Niki

Perhaps you’re usually a chocolate chip or blueberry pancake kind of person. Or maybe you’re into Jack Johnson and you pretend like it’s the weekend as you whip up banana pancakes whenever that bunch on your kitchen counter starts getting those perfect little brown spots and are begging you to make something glorious out of them and you don’t have the patience for banana bread *deep breath* (no, of course I’m not talking about myself). So while I imagine most of you usually go for plain, chocolate chip, blueberry, or banana, my hope is that you’ll fall equally in love with the pumpkin variety of pancakes.

Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Pancakes | Nourish with Niki

And let me just add that they taste way better with maple syrup than any other cake.

Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Pancakes | Nourish with Niki

Admittedly, over the last couple years I’ve made an embarrassing amount of gluten free pancakes, which 95% of the time involve either pumpkin or banana. I shall call this my quest for The Triple P – The Perfect Pumpkin Pancake. And in all honesty, I don’t know if I’ll ever say I’ve arrived. Maybe it’s because I have too much fun experimenting, and if I achieve perfection I have less of an excuse to keep flipping the same embarrassing amount of pancakes. Maybe I’m reading into it too much.

Either way, we’ll call this particular recipe The Quadruple P: The Perfect Pumpkin Pancake in Progress. After all, if I were a pancake that looked that good, I’d need something to keep me humble.

Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Pancakes | Nourish with Niki


PUMPKIN Pancakes (GF, VEGAN)

Prep Time: 15 minutes Total Time:  30 minutes 
Yield:
 8-10 medium (4-inch) pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups Pamela’s Baking Mix
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1.5 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons coconut sugar (or other sweetener of choice)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax + 3 tablespoons water (mix together and refrigerate 15 minutes before adding to batter)

Directions:

  • Make flax egg and put in fridge.
  • Whisk together flour, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, and baking powder in a medium-large bowl.
  • Add remaining ingredients on top and stir until just mixed together.
  • Heat a griddle or large pan to medium heat. Coat with cooking spray or coconut oil.
  • Cook pancakes until just firm enough to flip or until golden brown.
  • Enjoy with maple syrup and butter/non-dairy spread of choice.

The ultimate question: pancakes or waffles!?

Leave a Reply

