One Pan Sweet Potato Sausage Hash

What to make for dinner…isn’t that the question of the evening every evening?

Not anymore.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

With just a handful of ingredients, you’ve got yourself a healthy, satiating, simple meal in under 30 minutes. Oh, and it’s delicious.

Make a little extra and you’ve got lunch for tomorrow covered.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This is definitely my go-to weeknight meal because I always have sweet potato, onion, garlic, and spinach on hand. I also always keep chicken or turkey sausage in the freezer.

Packed into this simple dish is complex carbs for sustained energy, protein to keep you full, and veggies for lots of vitamins and antioxidants. How’s that for a one-pan meal?

sweet potato sausage%0Ahash-2


one pan sweet potato sausage hash (GF, PALEO)

Prep Time: 10 minutes Total Time:  20-25 minutes 
Yield:
 1-2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 chicken sausage link (or other meat of choice)
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • salt/pepper (optional, to taste)

Directions:

  • Heat 2 teaspoons of olive oil in a medium pan over medium heat.
  • Chop the sweet potato into about 1/2 inch cubes. The smaller they are, the faster they cook.
  • Add sweet potato to pan. Coat in olive oil, cover, and cook for 5 minutes, making sure there is enough moisture in the pan so that they do not burn.
  • Chop onion. Add to pan.
  • Mince garlic and slice chicken sausage.
  • Add garlic, sausage, and spinach to pan. Cook until sausage is heated through and sweet potatoes are soft enough to pierce with a fork. If you don’t like your spinach wilted, wait to add until the very end of cooking.

What ingredients do you always like to keep on hand in your pantry, fridge, and freezer?

2 thoughts on “One Pan Sweet Potato Sausage Hash

  1. Katie says:

    This look absolutely delicious! Thank you for the recipe. i’ll have to try this myself sometime soon!

    The point of the Paleo diet is, and I feel some people forget this, to not only diet, but to eat delicious foods at the same time. It’s the only diet I’ve come across that cuts out food groups, yet still focusses on everyone’s need to eat great food.

    I’m a real foodie, and would not survive on any other diet, but Paleo has been very good for me. I’ve written about one of my favourite cookbooks: http://cookbook-reviews.net/review-the-paleo-recipe-book/

    Like

    • nmunz says:

      Thank you! Yes, let me know how it turns out! Exactly, I definitely feel that going Paleo is more of a lifestyle adjustment rather than a “diet.” I’m not strictly Paleo by any means, but I definitely feel much better when I reduce the amount of carbs in my diet and focus on fruits, veggies, and protein! I’ll have to check out your review!

      Like

Leave a Reply

