Granola, Fruit, and Yogurt Bowl (GF, DF*) + My Top Yogurt Picks

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, but some mornings I find myself in a bit of a pinch when I hit my snooze button one too many times. So here is a super easy and healthy breakfast idea I like to call GFYs (“jiffies”) – granola, fruit, and yogurt bowls – because, well, you can make them in a jiffy.

Packed with protein, fiber, vitamins, and minerals, GFYs are the perfect way to start off your day. Along with the bowl I made this past week, I’m going to recommend my top yogurt picks.



The components of my latest GFY is strawberry coconut yogurt (dairy-free), a handful of blueberries, a couple strawberries, half a banana, and just a sprinkle of granola. It’s important not to go overboard on the fruit and granola because they can pack in more added sugars and calories than you think.

When selecting yogurts, I look for non-GMO, organic brands with as few ingredients possible. Depending on how my body and GI system is feeling, I may or may not opt for a yogurt with dairy. Coconut milk is used as a base for a tasty non-dairy alternative. There are also soy milk, almond milk, and lactose-free varieties.

My Top Yogurt Picks:

1. Wallaby Organic Greek

wallaby
2. Stonyfield Organic Greek
stonyfield
3. Siggi’s Icelandic Skyr Yogurt*
siggis
4. SO Delicious Coconut Milk Cultured Yogurt
so delicious
5. Noosa Aussie Style Yoghurt*
noosa

*not organic, but cows are grass-fed and farms do not use any growth hormones


Granola, Fruit, and Yogurt Bowl (GFY) – GF, DF*

Prep Time: <5 minutes Total Time: <5 minutes
Yield: 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (or container) yogurt of choice
  • 2-3 T granola of choice – I like Chex Honey Nut Gluten-Free
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 2 strawberries
  • 1/2 banana

Directions: Put yogurt in a bowl and top with fruit and granola. Enjoy your GFY!

Has anyone tried any other awesome organic/non-GMO/grass fed yogurts?

Leave a Reply

