Personal English Muffin Pizza (gf, df)

Here’s the thing. I thoroughly enjoy pizza, but am someone who
1. does not tolerate gluten
2. does not tolerate dairy for the most part, and
3. is a college student cooking for me, myself, and I most of the time…
so you could probably imagine the difficulty that I encounter when I have a craving for pizza.

So the other night, I decided to do something about this conundrum. I made a gluten-free, dairy-free, personal pizza.



You’re probably wondering how that even qualifies as pizza then. And let me just tell you that it qualifies. I was having an intense craving for pizza, and this quick fix exceeded all my expectations. Plus, it’s a heck of a lot better for you than frozen or delivery pizza, not to mention faster. If you don’t have any dietary restrictions, you can make easy substitutions so that your personal english muffin pizza is overflowing with gluten and dairy 😉

All you need are a few simple items:
1. English Muffin – I used Food For Life’s brown rice gluten free english muffin, which I found at Whole Foods. However, you can use any kind you’d like or that fits your dietary needs.

gf english muffins

2. Vegan Mozzarella Cheese – This is a soy-based cheese, so it contains no dairy. I found this product at Whole Foods as well. I am not going to lie to you…regular cheese is so. much. better. I’ve experimented with several different kinds of vegan cheese options, and I was very satisfied with this one by Vegan Gourmet though. It doesn’t compare to regular ol’ cheese (I’m from Wisconsin, what do you expect?), but it sure beats the stomach ache that I would get after eating real mozzarella cheese.
vegan cheese

3. Pasta Sauce (or pizza sauce)
4. Toppings – For me, this was bacon and turkey sausage. I was going to add spinach, but I forgot. Who needs vegetables anyway? 😉 You can add whatever you would like. Mushrooms, onions, peppers, chicken…the possibilities are endless.


Personal English Muffin Pizza (GF, df)

Prep Time: 5 minutes Total Time: 10 minutes 
Yield:
 1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 GF english muffin (or non-GF)
  • pasta sauce (I used 1/3-1/2 cup)
  • vegan cheese (or regular)
  • toppings (your choice)
    • bacon
    • turkey sausage

Directions:

  • Turn oven on broil.
  • Lightly toast english muffin in toaster. This helps to avoid making the english muffin soggy from the pasta sauce.
  • Spread pasta sauce evenly over both halves of english muffin.
  • Top with cheese and toppings.
  • Place under broiler until hot and cheese is melted/bubbling, probably less than 5 minutes.

Are there any creative ways that you eat english muffins when it isn’t breakfast time?

4 thoughts on “Personal English Muffin Pizza (gf, df)

Leave a Reply

