Strawberry Boost Smoothie (gf, vegan)

I don’t know about you, but in the winter time, salads do not usually sound very appealing to me. I know, I know, I’m a nutrition nut/dietetics major/health fanatic blah blah blah, and therefore, I should loooovvveee salads. And I do. But not when it’s 20 below outside and all I want to do is curl up in a ball and eat something comforting.

Comforting to me is often a warm bowl of vegetable quinoa soup for lunch, but other times I crave something a bit more creamy and rich. Like this delicious smoothie.



Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

As long as I’ve been inside and out of the brutal Madison weather long enough to warm my body back up, a soothing smoothie actually does sound wonderful. Especially when I know I’m getting my greens, protein, and healthy fats all in one delicious package. No salad necessary.

I mean it’d be nice if the smoothie were pink from the strawberries, but my handful of spinach results in zero taste compromise. I swear. In fact, there’s another sneaky green ingredient that is responsible for the amazing creamy, dreaminess…Can you guess what it is?


Strawberry Boost Smoothie (GF, VEGAN)

Prep Time: 5 minutes Total Time: 5 minutes 
Yield:
 1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 strawberries
  • 1/2 banana, frozen is best
  • 1/2 avocado
  • handful spinach (or other mixed greens)
  • 1 T ground flax seeds
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (I used VegaOne…it’s the very best, in my opinion)
  • a few drops imitation butter extract (optional, but gives a richer flavor)
  • unsweetened coconut milk (enough to reach desired thickness)
  • water (optional, to thin out)

Directions:

  • Put all ingredients in a blender (I use the Magic Bullet) and blend until desired consistency. Enjoy!

Note: You might be able to tell there are lots of little tweaks you can make. I never follow a recipe for my smoothies. Use what you have on hand, make substitutions, add stuff in, take stuff out. Experiment a little! Some examples of ways this particular “recipe” could be changed include using chia seeds, adding more protein powder (perhaps a different brand), using almond milk instead of coconut milk, using vanilla extract instead of butter extract, adding blueberries, etc.

What are your go-to smoothie ingredients?

Leave a Reply

